News & Events

Announcing the publication of “A Theory of Bioethics” by David DeGrazia and Joseph Millum

We are very pleased to announce the publication of A Theory of Bioethics by David DeGrazia and Joseph Millum. This volume offers a carefully argued, compelling theory of bioethics while eliciting practical implications for a wide array of issues including medical assistance-in-dying, the right to health care, abortion, animal research, and the definition of death. The authors’…

Read post

Keystone Symposia: diversity, training and funding opportunities for the upcoming season

Keystone Symposia is now accepting applications for the 2022 Fellows Program!  This one-year program provides leadership and career-development training to early-career scientists from under-represented and disadvantaged backgrounds, to promote their successful career advancement.  Fellows will develop the necessary skills to pursue leadership and decision-making roles in academic, industry and government sectors through a hands-on immersion experience,…

Read post

H3Africa’s Microbiome Task Force Webinar: “Vaginal Metagenomics and Persistent High-Risk HPV Infection” by Prof. Clement Adebamowo

Webinar details: Date: 18 October 2021.Time: 2:00pm GMT (3:00pm WAT, 4:00pm CAT, 5:00pm EAT, 10:00am EST) Venue: Zoom Meeting https://uct-za.zoom.us/j/98456004982?pwd=bXpBdmtyQ2JDT0FhaDdpRCs1blRodz09 Meeting ID: 98456004982 Passcode: 947134 About Prof. Adebamowo: Clement Adebamowo is a Professor of Epidemiology and Public Health; Member of the Program in Oncology; Center for Vaccine Development and Global Health (CVD) and Center for…

Read post

Announcing A New Course – IRB Risk Assessment of Technologies

The Center for Bioethics and Research in partnership with Collaborative Institutional Training Initiative (CITI) is proud to announce the addition of ‘’IRB Risk Assessment of Technologies course’’ to its list of CITI Courses. The use of technologically interconnected products and services continues to revolutionize the design and conduct of human subjects’ research. Ranging from smartphones and…

Read post