H3Africa’s Microbiome Task Force Webinar: “Vaginal Metagenomics and Persistent High-Risk HPV Infection” by Prof. Clement Adebamowo

Webinar

Webinar details:

Date: 18 October 2021.
Time: 2:00pm GMT (3:00pm WAT, 4:00pm CAT, 5:00pm EAT, 10:00am EST)

Venue: Zoom Meeting https://uct-za.zoom.us/j/98456004982?pwd=bXpBdmtyQ2JDT0FhaDdpRCs1blRodz09
Meeting ID: 98456004982
Passcode: 947134

About Prof. Adebamowo:

Clement Adebamowo is a Professor of Epidemiology and Public Health; Member of the Program in Oncology; Center for Vaccine Development and Global Health (CVD) and Center for Research in Aging (CRA) at the University of Maryland School of Medicine (UMSOM). He is Associate Director (Population Science) and Director, Global Health Cancer Research, Marlene and Stewart Greenebaum Comprehensive Cancer Center (UMSOM-GCCC), Baltimore, MD. He is also a volunteer Research Scientist at the Institute of Human Virology, Nigeria (IHVN) and the Center for Bioethics and Research, Nigeria (CBR).
Dr. Adebamowo studied medicine at the University of Jos, Nigeria; Surgery and Surgical Oncology at the University College Hospital, Ibadan Nigeria; Renal Transplantation at Apollo Hospital, Chennai, India and Nutrition Epidemiology and Biostatistics at Harvard University, Boston. He is a Life Fellow of the West African College of Surgeons (WACS), Fellow of the American College of Surgeons (ACS), the International College of Surgeons, Society of Surgical Oncology, and the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) (honoris causa). He was Professor of Surgery and Director of the Institute of Advanced Medical Training and Research (IAMRAT), University of Ibadan (UI) and University College Hospital, (UCH) Ibadan, Nigeria.
Dr. Adebamowo conducts research and implements training in research ethics, epidemiology and genomics of breast and cervical cancer, and other non-communicable diseases. The research projects focus on improving informed consent for research, bioengineering of point of care diagnostics, genomics, microbiomics, metagenomics, and metabolomics to improve knowledge of the mechanisms of carcinogenesis and identify new methods of cancer diagnosis and early detection. He is PI of the African Collaborative Center for Microbiome and Genomics Research, Institute of Human Virology, Abuja, Nigeria. (http://h3accme.com), the AFBRECANE, and INDIGENE projects (https://indigenestudy.bioethicscenter.net/home). These projects are part of the H3Africa initiative funded by the Wellcome Trust and NHGRI/NIH – (http://h3africa.org/projects).

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on whatsapp
WhatsApp